Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Koroit Football Club

Known as


Black, red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Hampden Football Netball League (HFL) 1961–2022

Affiliations (Historical)
Western District Football Association (WDFA) 1918–1923; Western District Football League (WDFL) 1924–1932, 1934–1935, 1958–1960; Koroit District Football Association (KDFA) 1933; Port Fairy Football League (PFFL) 1936–1940, 1946–1957; Warrnambool and District Football League (WDFL) 1943–1945

Senior Premierships
Warrnambool Football Association (WFA) - 1943-4 (2 total); Hampden Football League - 1971, 1973, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2014-15-16-17-18 (10 total)



Since the turn of the century Koroit has enjoyed arguably the most successful phase in its history, contesting ten senior grand finals in eighteen years, six of which, including the last four in succession, were won. The club commenced in the Hampden Football League in 1961 and achieved its breakthrough inaugural flag ten seasons later, with a second following in 1973. Mixed fortunes ensued for the next two and a half decades, with the team making it as far as the preliminary final on five occasions whilst flirting with the wooden spoon on several others.

The Saints’ 2007 premiership triumph saw them recover from the setback of a 45 point qualifying final loss to Cobden to score impressive wins over South Warrnambool in the first semi final, Terang Mortlake in the preliminary final, and Cobden, by 34 points, in the grand final. A year later they finished fourth after overcoming Camperdown in the elimination final before losing the first semi final to Warrnambool.

The 2009 season proved to be another noteworthy one for the Saints, culminating as it did in a 19.7 (121) to 11.16 (82) grand final defeat of Warrnambool.

Recent seasons have seen Koroit stamping themselves as the competition's pre-eminent force. Between 2013 and 2018 they qualified for every senior grade grand final, winning those of 2014 and 2015 against Warrnambool, 2016 at the expense of North Warrnambool, 2017 when Port Fairy were their victims and 2018 when they defeated Camperdown.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.