Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Port Fairy Football Club

Known as
Port Fairy

c 1860s

Purple and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Hampden Football Netball League (HFL) 1949–2023

Affiliations (Historical)
Western District Football Association (WDFA) 1910–1923; Western District Football League (WDFL) 1924–1934

Senior Premierships
Hampden Football League - 1958 (1 total)

Port Fairy

A single flag in seven decades of football may not seem all that imposing a record, but there can be no doubt that the Seagulls have been worthy members of the Hampden Football League throughout that time. Over the years the seniors have been regular finals participants, and both the reserves and under eighteens have known their share of good times as well.

Since reaching the grand final in 2005 the Seagulls’ fortunes have dipped, with 3 wins from 18 matches in 2006 consigning them to second from bottom on the ladder, and an even worse campaign in 2007 seeing them slump to the wooden spoon with only 1 win for the year. Another wooden spoon followed in 2008 before the Seagulls gave tentative suggestions of having turned the corner in 2009 with their tally of 5 wins for the year seeing them clamber up to sixth place on the eight team premiership ladder. Subsequent performances have generally been underwhelming, however, as evidenced by wooden spoons in 2011, 2012 and 2014. The 2015 and 2016 seasons were somewhat more promising as the Seagulls qualified for the finals in both years. Then, in 2017, they made it all the way through to the grand final only to succumb by 21 points to a Koroit side they had bested a fortnight earlier in the second semi final. A year later they dropped one place on the premiership ladder after losing the preliminary final to eventual premiers Koroit by a single straight kick.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.