Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Wickliffe Lake Bolac Football Club

Known as
Wickliffe Lake Bolac

1986: merger of Wickliffe and Lake Bolac

Black and white


Associated clubs
Wickliffe; Lake Bolac

Affiliation (Current)
Mininera and District Football League (MDFL) 1986–2023

Senior Premierships
Mininera and District Football League - 1989, 1990, 1997, 2000-1-2, 2005, 2013, 2018 (9 total)

Wickliffe Lake Bolac

The alliance of the Wickliffe and Lake Bolac Football Clubs has been a productive one. In twenty-four seasons of football the Magpies have enjoyed senior grade premiership success no fewer than nine times. The club has also supplied three multiple Lewis Medallists for competition best and fairest, claiming a total of seven medals between them.

The eighth of Wickliffe Lake Bolac’s nine senior grade premierships was achieved in 2013 with an 11.14 (80) to 7.5 (47) grand final defeat of Moyston Willaura. More recently, the Magpies contested back to back grand finals but suffered defeat on both occasions at the hands of Tatyoon in 2016 and Lismore Derrinallum the following year. The former match was one-sided, Tatyoon romping home by 15 goals, but in the latter the Magpies held a solid 3 goal advantage at the main break only to flounder in the third term when they managed just 0.1 compared to 5.4. An evenly contested final quarter meant that the Demons maintained their lemon time advantage of 15 points with scores of 12.8 (80) to 10.5 (65). Amends were swiftly and spectacularly made in a 2018 season which saw the Magpies win every single match contested culminating in a 90 point grand final trouncing of Tatyoon. Scores were Wickliffe Lake Bolac 17.16 (118) defeated Tatyoon 4.4 (28).


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.