Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as


Red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Mid South East Football League (MSEFL) 1928–2023

Senior Premierships
Southern Ports Football Association (SPFA) - 1931, 1948, 1953, 1955-6-7, 1962-3-4-5 (10 total); Mid South Eastern Football League - 1968, 1987, 2003, 2018 (4 total)


Established in 1928, Robe commenced in the Southern Ports Football Association the same year, and contested the grand final for the first time in 1931. Opposed by Kingston, Robe wasted a fair number of goal scoring opportunities, but still did just enough to take out the premiership with a 6.14 (52) to 7.6 (48) win. The club next qualified for the grand final in 1939 but Lucindale proved comfortably too strong on that occasion and emerged victorious by 76 points.

After world war two the Roosters continued in the SPFA and claimed grand final triumphs in 1948 at the expense of Kingston South, 1953 and 1955 against Rovers, 1956 and 1957 against PC Ramblers, and every year between 1962 and 1965 at the expense, respectively, of PC Ramblers, Rovers, Beachport and Rovers United. They also finished as runners-up in 1952, 1958 and 1961.

The 1966 season saw the club transferring to the Mid South East Football Association (later League) where it remains to this day. Robe’s first senior grade MSEFL flag was claimed in 1968 when Glencoe provided the grand final opposition. Since then there have been a further nine senior grade grand final appearances, but only in 1987 against Port MacDonnell, 2003 at the expense of Glencoe and 2018 against Mount Burr were the Roosters successful. The 2018 match went right down to the wire with the Roosters ultimately prevailing by just 3 points, 9.10 (64) to 9.7 (61). For three quarters Mount Burr were the better side and they led at every change by 26, 24 and 17 points. However, in the last quarter Robe added 3.2 whilst keeping their opponents scoreless to snatch a famous victory.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.