Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Swansea Football Club

Known as


Red and blue


Affiliation (Current)
Oatlands District Football Association (ODFA) 2002–2023

Affiliations (Historical)
East Coast Football Association (ECFA) 1909–1958; Fingal District Football Association (FDFA) 1959–1992; Tasman Football Association (TFA) 1993–2001

Senior Premierships
Oatlands District Football Association - 2004, 2007 (2 total)


Swansea has participated in numerous different competitions over the years, and has usually managed to find success. Its most noteworthy era came immediately after world war two when it competed in the East Coast Football Association, a competition which ran from 1946 to 1958. During that time Swansea was easily the Association’s most successful club, reaching ten out of thirteen possible grand finals for seven wins.

After the ECFA went into mothballs Swansea spent roughly a quarter of a century competing in the Fingal District Football Association, claiming further senior flags in 1966, 1978 and 1982. The side was also runner-up on four occasions. More recently, Swansea has enjoyed premiership success in both the Tasman Football Association (1999 and 2001) and the Oatlands District Football Association (2004 and 2007). There have also been losing grand final appearances in 2006 and 2008. The last three seasons have seen the Swans finish fifth (2016), a disappointing eighth and last in 2017 when they lost all 19 matches contested, and sixth (of seven) in 2018.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.