Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Balaklava Football Club

Known as


1903: Competed as two separate clubs between 1926 and 1932

Green and yellow

Associated clubs
Balaklava Centrals; Balaklava Rovers; Balaklava B

Affiliation (Current)
Adelaide Plains Football League (APFL) 1940–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Wooroora Football Association (WFA) 1909–1925; Wakefield Football Association (WFA) 1933–1939

Senior Premierships
Wakefield Football Association (WFA) - 1933, 1938 (2 total); Adelaide Plains Football League - 1951, 1957-8, 1977, 1983, 1985-6, 1991, 1994, 1996, 1999-2000, 2011 (13 total)


An early incarnation of the Balaklava Football Club existed between 1903 and 1925, claiming a total of five premierships during that time. The 1926 season saw Balaklava splitting into two separate clubs, Balaklava Centrals and Balaklava Rovers, both of which spent the ensuing seven seasons competing in the Wakefield Football Association. Both clubs experienced premiership success, Centrals in 1929, and Rovers on three consecutive occasions between 1926 and 1928.

The direct antecedent of today’s Balaklava Football Club was established in 1933 and, competing in the WFA, won a flag at the first time of asking, defeating Owen in the grand final by 37 points. Losing grand finals against Hoyleton in both 1935 and 1936 followed before the side broke through for a second premiership in 1938 courtesy of a 15.10 (100) TO 11.8 (74) grand final triumph over Avon.

In 1940 Balaklava commenced in the Adelaide Plains Football League in which it still competes. It won its first senior grade flag in the new competition in 1951 and, with the exception of the 1960s, has added at least one premiership per decade since. The 1990s were especially productive, with the Woodpeckers enjoying a one hundred per cent ‘hit rate’ from four grand final appearances. Their most recent senior grade premiership came in the 2011 season via a 15.15 (105) to 9.4 (58) grand final defeat of Virginia. The following season saw their good form continuing as they topped the ladder prior to the finals with a 13-2 record. However, they then bowed out of the flag race in disappointing fashion with "straight sets" finals losses to Two Wells and Virginia. 

Over the ensuing half a dozen seasons the Woodpeckers finished fifth (2013), third (2014), fifth (2015), fourth (2016), third (2017) and runners-up to Two Wells (2018). A highly promising 2019 campaign produced a minor premiership before lack of finals experience precipitated a 'straight sets' exit from the flag race. The APFL operated on a scaled down format in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic, and Balaklava failed to field an A Grade team.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.