Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Camperdown Football Netball Club

Known as


Black and white


Affiliation (Current)
Hampden Football Netball League (HFL) 1930–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Sheldrick Brewing Company Trophy (SBCT) 1906–1910; Corangamite Football Association (CFA) 1911–1923; Western District Football League (WDFL) 1924–1925, 1928–1929; Corangamite Football League (CFL) 1926–1927

Senior Premierships
Corangamite Football Association (CFA) - 1921, 1923, 1926 (3 total); Hampden Football League - 1938, 1951, 1968, 1970, 1999-2000 (6 total); Terang and District Football League (TDFL) - 1944-5 (2 total)



With the exception of a brief stint in the wartime Terang and District Football League during which it claimed a couple of flags, Camperdown has been a member of the Hampden Football League since the competition’s inception in 1930. After finishing last of four on debut and again two seasons later the side showed steady improvement, contesting its first grand final in 1937, and breaking through for a premiership the following year.

After world war two Camperdown contested six of the first seven finals series but only once, in 1951, was it successful in claiming the flag. Over the next half a century this trend was repeated several times, with premierships only being sporadically achieved despite consistently good, or better than good, form.

The Magpies’ most recent premierships, and the only ones to have been won back to back, were gained at the expense of Colac in 1999 and Koroit the following year. In both 2003 and 2006 Camperdown reached grand finals only to lose. Recent seasons have seen the Magpies finish fifth (2014), sixth (2015), fifth (2016), sixth (2017), second to Koroit (2018) and seventh (2019) on what is currently a ten team premiership ladder.

Prior to commencing in the HFL Camperdown competed with success in the Corangamite Football Association and also spent some time in the Western District Football League.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.