Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Dartmoor Football Club

Known as


c 1920s


Affiliation (Current)
South West District Football Netball League (SWDFNL) 1970–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Heywood and District Football League (HDFL) 1926–1933, 1940–1947; Fitzroy Junior Football Association (FJFA) 1934–1939; Portland District Football League (PDFL) 1959–1969

Senior Premierships
South West District Football League - 1979-80, 1982, 2011, 2014, 2017 (6 total)



Prior to becoming a founder member in 1970 of the Portland-Port Fairy Football League, precursor of today’s South West District Football League, Dartmoor had competed in various leagues and associations since the 1920s. The Swans enjoyed a halcyon phase during the late 1970s and early 1980s when they claimed three senior grade premierships in four years plus the first ever SWDFL reserves flag in 1982. They subsequently added another reserves grade premiership in 1988 but after that the senior grade closet remained bare for almost three decades. Finally, in 2011 the Swans returned to the winners' enclosure with a 9.12 (66) to 4.10 (34) grand final defeat of Tyrendarra. Three years later they obtained their fifth senior grade SWDFL premiership by downing Heywood by 16 points in the grand final with scores of 12.13 (85) to 10.9 (69). Subsequent seasons brought sixth (2015) and fourth (2016) place finishes before the the Swans resumed their winning ways in 2017 with a 12.13 (85) to 11.13 (79) grand final triumph over Heywood. A year later they dropped down the ladder to fourth.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.