Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Fish Creek Football Club

Known as
Fish Creek


White and red


Affiliation (Current)
Mid Gippsland Football Netball League (MGFNL) 2021–2023

Affiliations (Historical)
South Gippsland Shire Football Association (SGSFA) 1903–1923; South Gippsland Football Association (SGFA) 1924–1930; Dumbalk Football Association (DFA) 1931–1933; South Gippsland Football League (SGFL) 1934–1952; Alberton Football Netball League (AFNL) 1953–2020

Senior Premierships
Alberton Football League (AlbFL) - 1955-6, 1958-9-60-1, 1963-4-5-6-7, 1985, 1991-2, 2000-1-2, 2016-17-18 (20 total)


Fish Creek

Since commencing in the Alberton Football League in 1953 Fish Creek has been by some measure the competition’s most successful club, with its tally of nineteen senior premierships more than double that of its nearest challengers.[1] Immediately prior to joining the AlbFL the Kangaroos had competed in the South Gippsland Football League, and before that in the Dumbalk Football Association and the South Gippsland Football Association (precursor of the SGFL).

Fish Creek’s success in the AlbFL has been spread fairly evenly across its five decades of involvement in the competition, with its teams of the 1960s warranting special mention for contesting nine out of a possible ten senior grade grand finals for seven wins.

The Kangaroos commenced the 21st century with a hat-trick of grand final victories but then their fortunes slumped. In 2007 they managed eightg wins and a draw from 18 matches to finish in eighth place out of 14 teams. They showed marginal improvement a year later in terms of wins, but their tally of nine was nevertheless only good enough for a ninth place finish. In 2009 they dropped to third from last after managing just three wins before beginning to show signs of improvement during a 2010 season that saw them qualify for the finals and ultimately finish fourth. The Kangaroos have qualified for every finals series since, and in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 they made the grand final, going down to Dalyston in the first of these years, accounting for Inverloch Kongwak by 17 points, 6.15 (51) to 4.10 (34), in the second, downing Toora in 2017 by 43 points, 17.10 (112) to 10.9 (69), and emphatically overcoming Foster by a margin of 53 points, 14.11 (95) to 6.6 (42) in 2018. The 2019 brought a slight decline in fortune as the Roos' quest for a fifth straight flag was quashed at the preliminary final stage by Stony Creek.


  1. These are Foster and former club Woodside and District, both of which have, or had, eight premierships to their names.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.