Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Glenrowan Football Netball Club

Known as

Kelly Tigers

c 1919

Black and yellow


Affiliations (Historical)
Wangaratta District Football Association (WDFA) 1922–1923; Glenrowan and Thoona Football Association (GTFA) 1924–1926, 1928–1929; Benalla & District Football Netball League (BDFNL) 1934–1991; Ovens & King Football Netball League (OKFNL) 1927, 1992–2019

Senior Premierships
Benalla and District Football League (BDFL) - 1955, 1969-70, 1980-1 (5 total); Ovens and King Football League - 2014-15-16 (3 total)



During the first couple of decades of the twentieth century Glenrowan took part in several different competitions, without achieving premiership success. After world war one the club competed in the short-lived Wangaratta Football Association, and also spent the 1927 season in the competition it was later to call home on a more enduring basis, the Ovens and King Football Association. Most of Glenrowan’s time between the 1920s and the early 1990s was spent in the Benalla and District competition, where it won a total of five senior grade flags.

Since 1992 the Tigers have been members of the OKFL, where it would probably be understating matters to suggest that they found the going difficult at first. In only their second match in the competition they lost to Chiltern by the calamitous margin of 321 points, but to their credit they worked hard to improve, and when the teams next met eleven rounds later the deficit was a much more respectable 11 goals. During the final few weeks of the 1992 season the side became increasingly competitive, and wins over Milawa and Beechworth provided reassurance that the decision to switch from the BDFL had been a wise one.

With the exception of a winless 1993 season the remainder of the 1990s brought slow but steady improvement. In 1995, the Tigers only narrowly failed to qualify for the finals, beating Chiltern for the first ever time, and on one notable occasion thrashing King Valley United by 174 points, 34.12 (216) to 6.6 (42).

After contesting the finals series of both 2004 and 2005, Glenrowan slipped down the list in 2006 to finish only one place off the bottom with a disappointing 5-13 record. The 2007 season produced marginal improvement with the side winning 6 of its 18 games to finish seventh in the ten team competition, while in 2008 the same number of wins was good enough for a sixth place finish.

Glenrowan again contested the finals in 2009, eventually finishing fourth. However, this was a prelude to a dismal period which culminated in a winless wooden spoon in 2012. After that, the Tigers' improvement was dramatic and swift, with a losing grand final against Milawa in 2013 being followed by four consecutive premierships. In 2014 they obtained revenge over Milawa on grand final day, winning 16.13 (109) to 10.8 (68). This was followed in 2015 by a 9.13 (67) to 8.6 (54) grand final defeat of the same opponents, while in 2016 it was the turn of Tarrawingee to be put to the sword by a margin of 64 points, 16.11 (107) to 6.7 (43). Then in 2017 the Tigers comfortably withstood the grand final challenge of Benalla All Blacks to triumph with scores of 13.12 (90) to 6.7 (43). A year later they endured a much tougher campaign which was brought to an end at the first semi final stage by Benalla All Blacks. This was followed by a disappointing drop to eighth place in 2019. The club was placed in recess at the end of the season, and is yet to return to competition.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.