Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Nhill and District Sporting Club

Known as

c 1880s

Light blue, black and yellow


Affiliation (Current)
Wimmera Football Netball League (WFNL) 1937–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
West Wimmera Football League (WWFL) 1919–1923, 1932; Wimmera District Football League (WDFL) 1925–1931; Mid-Wimmera Football League (MWFL) 1933–1936

Senior Premierships
Wimmera Football League - 1964-5, 1969, 1981 (4 total)

Postal Address
P.O. Box 165, Nhill, Victoria 3418


Nhill commenced in the Wimmera Football League in 1937 and reached their first grand final in their third season, when they lost to Stawell by 31 points. There were no further grand final appearances until 1963 when the Tigers went down by 19 points to Rupanyup. A year later Nhill made the big breakthrough, claiming a first senior grade premiership by beating Ararat in a replayed grand final. The initial meeting between the sides ended with scores deadlocked on 50 points apiece, while the replay proved every bit as fiercely contested before the Tigers edged to victory by 2 points, 10.10 (70) to 9.14 (68).

The 1960s would prove to be the Nhill Football Club's halcyon decade. The 1965 season brought a second successive premiership triumph with the Tigers accounting for Warracknabeal on grand final day by a 14 point margin, 10.13 (73) to 8.11 (59). The Tigers later rounded off the decade in style by overcoming Stawell in the 1969 grand final by 13 points, 15.10 (100) to 12.15 (87).

Since their 1969 premiership triumph the Tigers have contested only two more grand finals, downing Horsham by 4 points in 1981, and losing to the same opponents by 58 points in 2010. The last few seasons have been somewhat disappointing, with the nadir coming  in 2014 when they slumped to a winless wooden spoon.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.