Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Undera Football Club

Known as


Maroon, blue and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Kyabram District Football League (KDFL) 1946–1947, 1952–2023

Affiliations (Historical)
Kyabram District Junior Football Association (KDJFA) 1909–1922; Goulburn Valley Assocation (GVA) 1928–1941; Central Goulburn Valley Football League (CGVFL) 1948–1951

Senior Premierships
Kyabram District Football League - 1946-7, 1955, 1962, 1968, 1972, 1997, 2009 (8 total)


Undera's tally of eight post-war senior grade premierships makes them the league’s third most successful club, after Nagambie (ten) and Merrigum (nine). With the exception of a barren period during the 1980s the club’s successes have been steadily and consistently achieved. It is perhaps a touch surprising to note that the Lions’ habit success does not extend to all grades, with the reserves only managing to claim a couple of flags, and the thirds likewise only finishing first once, in 1985.

Following their 2009 premiership triumph the Lions again qualified for the grand final a year later, but they lost by 15 points to Nagambie. Another grand final appearance followed in 2012 but opponents Violet Town proved much too strong and cruised to victory by 76 points. Undera have failed to contest the finals since.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.