Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game


South Australian National Football League

The SANFL (South Australian National Football League) is the premier League and governing body for Australian Football in South Australia. Originally formed as the South Australian Football Association (SAFA) on 30 April 1877, the SANFL is the oldest surviving football league of any code in Australia and one of the oldest football competitions in the world. The 'home and away' season is played over 23 weeks from April to September. The top five teams then play off in a final series culminating in the grand final for the Thomas Seymour Hill Premiership Trophy. The game is held at the Adelaide Oval in September, generally the week before the AFL Grand Final. The SANFL is the second highest attended Australian football league behind the AFL, and some would argue the second highest in the quality of the football.



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.