Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Representative Football

Known as


Affiliated competitions (Current)
Interstate 1901-2024

Affiliated competitions (Historical)
Women's Interstate 2017; Interstate Carnivals 1908-1988

Interstate Carnivals

Official Name
REP Bicentennial Carnival


Affiliated clubs (Historical)
Victoria (VIC) 1908-1988; Tasmania (TAS) 1908-1988; Western Australia (WA) 1908-1988; South Australia (SA) 1908-1988; Queensland (QLD) 1908-1988; New South Wales (NSW) 1908-1988; New Zealand (AUS) 1908; Australian Capital Territory (ACT) 1933-1988; VFA (VIC) 1950-1988; Australian Amateurs (AUS) 1950-1988; Northern Territory (NT) 1979-1988

Affiliated grounds (Historical)
Adelaide Oval; Brisbane Exhibition Ground; Erskineville Oval; Football Park; Fremantle Oval; Gabba; Lake Oval; Leederville Oval; M.C.G.; Manuka Oval; North Hobart Oval; Norwood Oval; Perth Oval; S.C.G.; Subiaco Oval; Trumper Park; Waverley Park

2023 REP Interstate Carnivals


Until fairly recently elite level Australian football meant interstate football. Moreover, it was primarily, indeed almost exclusively, in the interstate arena that football could in any serious way be argued to be a genuinely national sport. Since the transmutation of the VFL into the AFL, however, the overwhelming majority of Australia's elite footballers have participated in a single, national (or near-national) club competition, and the importance of senior interstate footy has diminished. Nevertheless, its overall significance in terms of the sport's development - and, indeed, arguably its very survival - cannot be over-stressed.

Read more

2023 Round by Round


* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.