Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
South Australian National Football League

Known as


Affiliated competitions (Current)
Premiership Season 1877-2023; Women's Reserves (Development League) 2022-2023; Women's Premiership Season 2017-2023; Under 16s 2009-2023; Under 18s 2009-2023; Reserves 1906-2023

Affiliated competitions (Historical)
Wartime League 1942-1944

Wartime League

Official Name
SANFL Wartime League


Affiliated clubs (Historical)
Norwood-North (SA) 1942-1944; Port Adelaide-West Torrens (SA) 1942-1944; Sturt-South Adelaide (SA) 1942-1944; West Adelaide-Glenelg (SA) 1942-1944

1944 SANFL Wartime League


The SANFL (South Australian National Football League) is the premier League and governing body for Australian Football in South Australia. Originally formed as the South Australian Football Association (SAFA) on 30 April 1877, the SANFL is the oldest surviving football league of any code in Australia and one of the oldest football competitions in the world. The 'home and away' season is played over 23 weeks from April to September. The top five teams then play off in a final series culminating in the grand final for the Thomas Seymour Hill Premiership Trophy.

Read more

1944 Round by Round


* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.