Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
South Australian National Football League

Known as


Affiliated competitions (Current)
Premiership Season 1877-2023; Women's Reserves (Development League) 2022-2023; Women's Premiership Season 2017-2023; Under 16s 2009-2023; Under 18s 2009-2023; Reserves 1906-2023

Affiliated competitions (Historical)
Wartime League 1942-1944

Premiership season

Official Name
SANFL Premiership season


Affiliated clubs (Current)
Port Adelaide Magpies (SA) 1877-2023; South Adelaide (SA) 1877-2023; Norwood (SA) 1878-2023; North Adelaide (SA) 1888-2023; West Adelaide (SA) 1897-2023; Sturt (SA) 1901-2023; Glenelg (SA) 1921-2023; Central District (SA) 1964-2023; Woodville West Torrens (SA) 1991-2023; Adelaide Reserves (SA) 2014-2023

Affiliated clubs (Historical)
Bankers (SA) 1877; Kensington (SA) 1877-1881; South Park (SA) 1877-1884; Victorian (SA) 1877-1884; Adelaide (Original) (SA) 1877-1893; Woodville (Original) (SA) 1877; Royal Park (Original) (SA) 1882; Gawler (SA) 1887-1890; North Adelaide (Hotham) (SA) 1887-1888; West Torrens (SA) 1895-1990; Woodville (SA) 1964-1990

Affiliated grounds (Current)
Adelaide Oval; Alberton Oval; Centenary Oval; Elizabeth Oval; Glenelg Oval; Johnstone Park; Loxton Oval; Noarlunga Oval; Norwood Oval; Prospect Oval; Richmond Oval; Unley Oval; Woodville Oval

Affiliated grounds (Historical)
Adelaide Showground; Balaklava Oval; Bennett Oval; Berri; Bordertown Oval; Christies Beach; Clare Oval; Encounter Bay; Flemington; Football Park; Gawler; Geraldton; Hands Oval; Hindmarsh Stadium; Jubilee Oval; Kadina Oval; Kensington Oval; Lameroo; Mannum Oval; Moonta; Mount Gambier; Mount Pleasant; Naracorte; Nurioopta; Penola; Port Augusta; Port Pirie Memorial Oval; Richmond Paddock; S.C.G.; Strathalbyn Oval; TBA; Thebarton Oval; Victor Harbor Oval; Waikerie

2022B SANFL Premiership season


The SANFL (South Australian National Football League) is the premier League and governing body for Australian Football in South Australia. Originally formed as the South Australian Football Association (SAFA) on 30 April 1877, the SANFL is the oldest surviving football league of any code in Australia and one of the oldest football competitions in the world. The 'home and away' season is played over 23 weeks from April to September. The top five teams then play off in a final series culminating in the grand final for the Thomas Seymour Hill Premiership Trophy.

Read more

2022B Round by Round


* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.