Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Ararat Eagles Football Club

Known as
Ararat Eagles

2000: absorption of Prestige Trinity and St. Mary's

Navy blue, yellow and white


Associated clubs
Prestige Trinity; St. Mary's (Ararat)

Affiliation (Current)
Mininera and District Football League (MDFL) 2011–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Horsham District Football Netball League (HDFNL) 2000; Lexton Plains Football League (LPFL) 2001–2010


Ararat Eagles

The Eagles commenced life in 2000 as members of the Horsham and District Football League before crossing to the Lexton Plains Football League the following year. When the LPFL went into mothballs after the 2010 season the Eagles transferred to the Mininera and District Football League. The club’s seniors have so far failed to annex a premiership, and indeed their performances overall have been undistinguished. The other grades have performed somewhat better, with the highlight being a grand final triumph by the under fourteens in 2008. The previous season had seen the under seventeens contest the grand final, but they lost to Navarre.

In recent seasons the Eagles have struggled somewhat. They finished 11th in both 2013 and 2014, 12th and last in both 2015 and 2016, 10th in 2017, 11th in 2018 and bottom without a win in 2019. The reserves have found life similarly tough.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.