Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Barnawartha Football Club

Known as


Black and yellow


Affiliation (Current)
Tallangatta and District Football League (TDFL) 1958–2024

Affiliation (Historical)
Chiltern and District Football League (CDFL) 1920–1956

Senior Premierships
Chiltern and District Football Association (CDFA) - 1921, 1923, 1925, 1956 (4 total); Tallangatta and District Football League - 2002, 2013 (2 total)



Barnawartha’s glory days were the first half of the 1920s when the side contested four grand finals for three wins. The Tigers also fielded strong teams during the 1950s, finishing second in 1953 and 1954 and downing Lavington in the grand final of 1956. All these achievements occurred in the Chiltern and District Football Association with which the club was affiliated until 1958, when it transferred to the Tallangatta and District Football League, where it has remained to this day. The Tigers' first senior grade TDFL flag was claimed in 2002 by means of a resounding 21.17 (143) to 9.9 (63) grand final defeat of Tallangatta Valley. Performances over the ensuing decade were more modest in the main, but in 2013 the Tigers returned to the top of the tree by reaching the grand final and accounting for opponents Mitta United by 20 points, 13.14 (92) to 11.6 (72). Subsequent seasons were highlighted by finals participation in 2014, 2016, 2018 and 2019 but there have been no further premiership triumphs. Their most impressive campaign was in 2019 when they qualified for the grand final, only to lose heavily to Thurgoona.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.