Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Bathurst Bushrangers Women's Football Club

Known as
Bathurst Bushrangers WFC


Teal blue, black and white


Affiliation (Current)
AFL Central West (AFLCW) 2015–2024

Senior Premierships
AFL Central West Women's Football League (AFLCWWFL) - 2015-16-17 (3 total)

Bathurst Bushrangers WFC

The AFL Central West Women's competition was established in 2015 and the Bushrangers were one of the new league's foundation members. They have also been far and away the most successful member club, claiming the premiership in each of the competition's first three seasons. In 2015 they were opposed in the grand final by Dubbo Demons and surged to a memorable 11.11 (77) to nil triumph. They also earned the title "champions" after winning all 10 matches contested for the year. The 2016 season brought a first ever league loss when Orange Tigers accounted for them by 3 goals in round eleven. However, the Bushrangers had their revenge on grand final day, winning by 18 points, 4.7 (31) to 2.1 (13). In 2017 the Bushrangers repeated their achievement of two years earlier by claiming victory in every match engaged in. Indeed, if anything their dominance was even more pronounced than in 2015 as they won a total of 15 league games.

For much of the ensuing season it looked likely that the Bushrangers were en route to continue their dominance as during the home and away rounds they won 14 out of 15 matches to top the ladder with some comfort. However, almost unbelievably the wheels fell off and they succumbed to a "straight sets" finals exit at the hands of Dubbo Demons and Bathurst Giants.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.