Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Bathurst Bushrangers

2004, through the merger of the Bathurst Eagles and Charles Sturt University Football Clubs

Teal blue, black and white


Affiliation (Current)
AFL Central West (AFLCW) –2024, 2004–

Senior Premierships
AFL Central West - 2004-5, 2009, 2012, 2017-18-19 (7 total)

Bathurst Bushrangers

Born out of a merger between Bathurst Eagles and Charles Sturt University, the Bushrangers were a force from the start. Competing in AFL Central West, in their debut season of 2004 they won premierships in all four grades, and they have since added another four at senior grade level alone.

In 2016 the Bushrangers fielded two separate teams, known as Outlaws and Rebels. The Outlaws ended up reaching the grand final only to lose to Cowra Blues. A year later the Outlaws again qualified for the grand final after the Rebels had topped the ladder with a 100% record. The grand final opposition came from Orange Tigers with the Outlaws ultimately prevailing by 38 points, 13.11 (89) to 7.9 (51).

The Rebels qualified for the 2018 grand final only to kick poorly in going down by 3 points to Orange Tigers. The Outlaws meanwhile also qualified for the finals and ended up in fourth place.

In 2019 the Rebels broke through for a premiership thanks to a 9.15 (69) to 5.9 (39) grand final defeat of Orange Tigers. The Outlaws ended up in fifth place.

A reduced scale 2020 season saw the Bushrangers fielding a single, combined team once more and ultimately procuring an unbeaten premiership.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.