Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Belmont Football Club

Known as
Belmont Lions

Former name
St Bernard's, East Belmont


Maroon, blue and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Geelong & District Football Netball League (GDFNL) 1965–2024

Senior Premierships
Geelong and District Football League - 2007 (1 total)

Most Games
381 by Peter Newton


Belmont Lions

Originally known as East Belmont, the Lions adopted their current name in 1998, a move which sparked a significant upturn in the club’s fortunes, culminating in a first ever senior grade premiership in 2007. The triumph was achieved in dramatic fashion, by a single goal, at the expense of an East Geelong side which had triumphed by 21 points in the teams’ previous clash in the second semi final. The Lions’ only other flag wins were attained at reserves level in 1970,[1] 1994 and 1995, and with the under fifteens in 2000.

In recent seasons the Lions have had to struggle somewhat. For instance in both 2010 and 2013 they finished last on the premiership ladder. In 2015 they fared somewhat better, contesting a rare finals series, although their involvement was fleeting as they lost their elimination final clash with Bannockburn by 16 points. Subsequent seasons have proved much less noteworthy, yielding sixth (2016) , 11th (2017), ninth (2018) and 10th (2019) place finishes on the 12 team premiership ladder.


  1. The 1971 reserves premiership was actually won by the club's A Grade team which, along with Anglesea Football Club, had been demoted to the reserves competition following poor performances at senior level in 1970.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.