Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Beswick Bears Football Club

Known as
Beswick Bears

2009, as a breakaway from the Arnhem Crows

Maroon, blue and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Big Rivers Football League (BRFL) –2024, 2009–

Senior Premierships
Big Rivers Football League - 2010 (1 total)

Beswick Bears

The Bears commenced in the AFL Katherine senior grade competition in 2009. The following year saw the name of the competition changed to Big Rivers Football League and Beswick enjoyed the distinction of claiming the first premiership under the new name with a 12.12 (84) to 11.7 (73) grand final defeat of Arnhem Crows. The triumph was all the more rewarding in that the Bears had been established by former Crows officials and players. Recent seasons have seen the Bears performing quite strongly in the main, including finals appearances in 2016-17-18. However, the club did not compete in 2020-21.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.