Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Boort Football Club

Known as

c 1889

Black and white


Affiliation (Current)
North Central Football League (NCFL) 1951–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Mitiamo District Football League (MDFL) 1937; Korong Football League (KFL) 1927–1936, 1938–1939, 1947–1949; Golden Rivers Football League (GRFL) 1945–1946, 1950

Senior Premierships
Gladstone Football Association (GFA) - 1925 (1 total); Mitiamo Football League (MFL) - 1937 (1 total); Korong Football League (KFL) - 1949 (1 total); Kerang District Football League (KDFL) - 1950 (1 total); North Central Football League - 1954, 1982, 2008 (3 total)



Football was being played in Boort as early as the 1880s, and a club representative of the town was competing at an organised level by the first decade of the twentieth century. The club’s first premiership arrived in 1925 in the Gladstone Football Association, with the second following in the Mitiamo Football League in 1937. In 1949 and 1950 the Magpies claimed successive flags for the first and only time in their history, albeit in different competitions (respectively the Korong Football League and the Kerang District Football League).

In 1951 Boort commenced in the North Central Football League, a much stronger competition than those in which it had previously played. After struggling initially, the club developed into a force, and in 1954 it won a tortuous grand final against hot favourites Wycheproof by a margin of 3 points. Final scores were Boort 8.8 (56) defeated Wycheproof 6.17 (53), making it clear that the Magpies’ triumph hinged, at least in part, on their greater efficiency in front of goal.

Boort’s second NCFL flag did not transpire until 1982 and was won in contrasting fashion to its predecessor via a 26.14 (170) to 10.22 (82) grand final annihilation of Wycheproof Narraport.

The early years of the 21st century saw the Magpies re-emerging as a power. They reached the 2006 grand final, only to lose to Donald by 35 points, and then two years later claimed their third NCFL premiership by means of an 11.15 (81) to 10.6 (66) grand final defeat of Wedderburn. The Magpies again made the grand final in 2010 but lost to Wycheproof Narraport by 44 points. The next half a dozen seasons saw a dip in fortunes and there were no further finals appearances and even a couple of wooden spoons. The 2017 season saw a modicum of improvement as the Magpies qualified for the finals and ultimately finished fourth but following that they endured a dismal 2018 campaign which spawned just a couple of wins and saw them slump to eighth and last place on the premiership ladder. Even worse was to follow as a winless 2019 campaign again consigned the Magpies to the wooden spoon.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.