Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Border Districts

1951, by means of a merger between the Frances and Minimay Football Clubs

Maroon and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League (KNTFL) –2024, 1951–

Senior Premierships
Kowree Naracoorte Football League (KNFL) - 1957, 1962, 1967, 1975-6, 1979-80-1, 1991 (8 total)

Border Districts

Border Districts, as the name implies, straddles the border between South Australia and Victoria, and splits its home fixtures between the South Australian town of Frances and the Victorian town of Goroke. The club was originally formed in 1951 by means of a merger between the Frances and Minimay Football Clubs, both of which had competed, with sporadic premiership success, in a variety of leagues and associations dating back to before the first world war.

The newly merged club competed initially in the Kowree Naracoorte Football League, of which Frances had been an active member since the competition’s inception in 1936. The Eagles contested their first grand final in 1957, downing Edenhope by a couple of straight kicks, but it was in the ensuing decade that they really began to flex their muscles, reaching every grand final bar two between 1960 and 1967, for two flags. Even better was to follow as the most successful phase in the club’s history to date occurred from 1975 to 1982 when no fewer than five premierships were claimed.

When the Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League was established in 1993, Border Districts was one of 14 foundation members. The Eagles have yet to win a senior grade premiership in this competition, and in recent seasons they have tended to struggle. The 2017 season was a case in point as the side won just once in slumping to the wooden spoon and there have been no further finals appearances.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.