Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as


Red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League (KNTFL) 1908–2024

Senior Premierships
Tatiara (District) Football Association/League (T(D)FA/L) - 1919-20, 1922-3, 1926, 1939, 1949, 1957, 1967-8, 1971-2, 1975-6, 1984, 1986-7, 1990 (18 total); Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League - 2012 (1 total)


The Bordertown Football Club was established in 1908 and became a founder member of the Tatiara District Football Association three years later. When organised football recommenced after world war one, Bordertown again competed in the TDFA, and claimed the first post-war premiership in 1919. The club remained in this competition under its subsequent names of the Tatiara Football Association and Tatiara Football League until 1993, when football in the region was reorganised under the auspices of the Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League. Bordertown enjoyed frequent success prior to 1993, claiming eighteen senior grade premierships from a total of forty-four grand finals, but they have done so only once since. (The club will claim that by rights it ought to be credited with nineteen TFA/L flags but its 11.11 (77) to 10.11 (71) grand final defeat of Serviceton in 1933 was subsequently overturned by the Association after Serviceton protested, although on what grounds remains a mystery.)

After a long period of frustration the Roosters finally broke through to claim their first senior grade KNTFL premiership in 2012. In a tough, tight, tense grand final they held off a fast finishing Kaniva Leeor United to edge home by 7 points, 13.13 (91) to 12.12 (84). Subsequent seasons have seen the Roosters finish third (2013), fourth (2014), third (2015), ninth (2016), tenth (2017) and eleventh (2018) on the eleven team premiership ladder.

Among the most noteworthy players to line up with the Roosters down the years were quadruple Mail Medallist Hank Budel, and Dennis Murch whose senior career with the club spanned twenty-seven seasons, and whose two Mail Medals were achieved fifteen years apart.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.