Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Boston Tigers


Black and yellow


Affiliation (Current)
Port Lincoln Football League (PLFL) 1972–2024

Senior Premierships
Port Lincoln Football League - 1986 (1 total)

Boston Tigers

The Tigers’ only senior grade premiership to date came in 1986 when they downed a wayward Tasman side in the Port Lincoln Football League grand final by 3 points, 11.8 (74) to 9.17 (71). They have also been losing grand finalists four times: in 1980 against Waybacks, 1981 against Lincoln South, 1993 at the hands of Mallee Park and 2015 versus Mallee Park.

After several seasons of anonymity the Tigers returned to the finals fray in 2014 when they finished fourth. A year later they qualified for only only their sixth senior grade grand final but, as mentioned above, opponents Mallee Park proved comfortably too strong and triumphed by 55 points.

By contrast, the last couple of seasons have proved inordinately disappointing: in 2016 the Tigers managed just 2 wins from 15 matches to avoid the wooden spoon only on percentage, while in 2017 they succumbed to this indignity after losing every match contested for the year. Further wooden spoons followed in 2019 and 2020 with the side managing just a couple of wins in the former season and none whatsoever in the latter, although admittedly the 2020 programme of matches was limited to just eightrounds  because of the coronavirus pandemic..


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.