Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as


Light blue, royal blue and white


Affiliation (Current)
Hills Football League (HFL) 1956–2024

Senior Premierships
Hills Football Association (HFA) - 1959 (1 total); Torrens Valley Football Association (TVFA) - 1963 (1 total); HFL Division Two - 1981 (1 total)


Bridgewater Football Club, which represented the Adelaide suburbs of Bridgewater, Aldgate, Stirling and Verdun, existed for more than half a century, and enjoyed continuous membership of the Hills Football League from the time that competition came into being in 1967 until 2013, when a merger was agreed with the Callington Football Club.

The Raiders competed in the HFL’s Division Two competition for many years, winning an A Grade premiership in 1981 and a B Grade flag the following year. For many years the club fielded A Grade, B Grade, Senior Colts and Junior Colts teams in the central division.

Prior to joining the Hills Football League Bridgewater had competed in the old Hills Football Association from 1956 until the competition disbanded in 1961, capturing a senior grade flag in 1959, before spending the next five seasons in the Torrens Valley Football Association. In 1963 the club won a senior grade TVFA premiership after an 11.7 (73) to 9.3 (57) grand final defeat of Eden Valley Rovers.

Perhaps the most noteworthy footballer to have been involved with the Raiders was Tim Weatherald, who went on to enjoy considerable success in the SANFL with Sturt, winning the 2002 Magarey Medal and club best and fairest award, and playing in that year’s winning grand final against Central District.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.