Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Bridport Football Club

Known as

c 1934

Navy blue and white


Affiliation (Current)
North Eastern Football Union (NEFU) 1967–2024

Senior Premierships
North Eastern Football Union - 1973, 1982, 1993, 1999, 2001-2, 2013, 2015 (8 total)

Most Games
254 by Marcus Robertson


Bridport had won at least a couple of senior grade premierships in other competitions prior to affiliating with the North Eastern Football Union in 1967. The club contested its first NEFU grand final in 1970, but lost to Branxholm. Two years later the Seagulls met Winnaleah in the grand final but kicked themselves out of contention with a score of 13.18 (96) to the Magpies’ 16.8 (104). The following season saw the Seagulls secure their breakthrough NEFU flag on the strength of a 10.16 (76) to 7.6 (48) grand final defeat of Branxholm.

Bridport’s second senior grade NEFU premiership in 1982 was especially noteworthy in that it was accompanied by a triumph in the competition’s inaugural reserve grade grand final.

Since 1982 the Seagulls have added another half a dozen senior grade premierships, including back to back wins in 2001 and 2002. Their most recent premiership was obtained in 2015 courtesy of a 12.13 (85) to 7.9 (51) grand final defeat of East Coast Swans.

The 2017 season saw Bridport transferring to Division Two of the Northern Tasmanian Football Association in which they came 10th of 12 clubs before improving slightly (eighth of 11) the following year. The improvement continued in 2019 when a tally of nine wins from 16 matches saw the Seagulls come sixth on what was now a 10 team premiership ladder.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.