Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Broome Bulls

1949 as Meatworks Football Club; changed name to Broome Bulls in 1995

Red and white


Affiliation (Current)
West Kimberley Football Association (WKFL) –2024

Senior Premierships
West Kimberley Football Association - 1950, 1954, 1957, 1962-3-4, 1970, 1982, 1989, 1995, 1997-8-9, 2001, 2017 (15 total)

Broome Bulls

The Meatworks Football Club were foundation members in 1949 of the West Kimberley Football Association, and over the ensuing four decades they rivalled Towns as the competition’s most successful club. In 1994 the Meatworks, from which the Bulls drew a large proportion of their players, closed down, and the club was renamed after perhaps the most redoubtable of the Meatworks’ regular ‘clients’. Immediately following the name change the club continued to enjoy regular success for several years, and by 2001 they had added another five  premierships to the nine won under the Meatworks moniker. However, there then followed a prolonged premiership drought which was not broken until 2017. Opposed that year on grand final day by Derby Tigers the Bulls did just enough to edge the contest by a couple of points with scores of 10.6 (66) to 10.4 (64). Two years later the Bulls again reached the grand final, only to lower their colours on this occasion to Cable Beach.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.