Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Bungaree Football Club

Known as


Navy blue and red


Affiliation (Current)
Central Highlands Football League (CHFL) 1979–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Creswick District Football Association (CDFA) 1921–1927; Dunnstown District Football Association (DDFA) 1928–1930; Bungaree Football League (BFL) 1931–1932, 1937–1950; Clunes Football League (CFL) 1933–1936, 1951–1978

Senior Premierships
Kingston District Football Association (KDFA) - 1922 (1 total); Creswick District Football Association (CDFA) - 1924 (1 total); Bungaree Football Association (BFA) - 1949 (1 total); Clunes Football Association/League (CFA/L) - 1954, 1956-7, 1959, 1971, 1973, 1976 (7 total); Central Highlands Football League - 1991, 2014 (2 total)

Postal Address
c/o Post Office, Bungaree 3352, Victoria



Since the end of world war one Bungaree has participated in at least half a dozen different competitions and achieved premiership success in most of them. The Demons’ first flag was procured in 1922 in the Kingston District Football Association, and between then and the outbreak of the second world war they contested another four premiership deciding matches, for one win. 

It was after the second world war, however, that they really came into their own. In 1949 they downed Egerton Gordon by a point in a grand final that only produced 2 goals, and this was a prelude to a decade of dominance, mainly in the Clunes competition, which saw them take part in eight out of ten grand finals for four flags. The premierships dried up during the 1960s, but the ‘70s brought another rash of success with three flags from seven grand final appearances.

In 1979 Bungaree was a founder member of the Central Highlands Football League in which it has continued to compete ever since. The seniors reached their first CHFL grand final in 1985, but lost a thriller to Hepburn by 2 points. Further losing grand final appearances followed in 1986 and 1988, before the Dees claimed their first flag in the new competition in 1991.

Bungaree's second flag eventually followed in 2014 via a 16.18 (114) to 7.14 (56) grand final defeat of Springbank. Following this they finished third in 2015, fifth in 2016, eighth in 2017, ninth in 2018 and 10th in 2019..


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.