Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as

1955, when East Busselton and West Busselton Football Clubs merged

Black and white


Affiliation (Current)
South West Football League (SWFL) –2024, 1955–

Senior Premierships
Bunbury Collie Football League (BCFL) - 1956 (1 total); South West Football League - 1964, 1967, 1978, 1996, 2012, 2015 (6 total)


The Magpies were established in 1955 following a merger between erstwhile arch rivals East Busselton and West Busselton. Both these clubs had been competing in the Bunbury Collie Football League, which had been founded in 1953, and Busselton continued in the same competition. The success of the marriage was swiftly attested to as the Magpies went top in 1956, which proved to be the last season for the BCFL as it was replaced the following year by the South West Football League. The Magpies were a force in this competition during the 1960s, a decade that spawned a couple of premierships, with other being added in 1978 and 1996.

Busselton have twice won senior grade premierships in recent years. In 2012 they drew with Collie Eagles in the grand final before winning the replay by 35 points, 11.8 (74) to 5.9 (39). Three years later their grand final victims were a Carey Park side which had earlier triumphed over the Magpies in the second semi final. The next few seasons brought a slump in fortunes with the Magpies finishing eighth (of ten) in 2016, ninth in 2017, and eighth in both 2018 and 2019. In 2020 the competition was conducted on a reduced scale basis involving fewer fixtures and shortened matches. Busselton made a long overdue return to the finals fray, ultimately getting as far as the grand final in which they suffered a heart breaking five point loss to Bunbury. 


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.