Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Campbell Town Football Club

Known as
Campbell Town


Black and red


Affiliation (Current)
Oatlands District Football Association (ODFA) 2009–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Midland Football Association (MFA) 1921–1971; Fingal District Football Association (FDFA) 1972–1992; Tasmanian Amateur Football League (TAFL) 1993–1995; Northern Tasmanian Football Association (NTFA) 1996–2005

Senior Premierships
Midlands Football Association (MFA) - 1931-2, 1934-5-6, 1950-1, 1955, 1961 (9 total); Northern Midlands Football Association (NMFA) - 1938 (1 total); Fingal District Football Association (FDFA) - 1973-4, 1976-7, 1979, 1981 (6 total); Norther Tasmanian Football Association Division Two - 1998, 2000-1 (3 total)

Most Games
250 by Noel Wynwood

Campbell Town

The Robins were successful members of the Midlands Football Association for the better part of four decades, winning a total of nine flags. In 1937 and 1938 this competition was split into northern and southern sections with Campbell Town enjoying premiership success in the former in 1937.

At the end of the 1971 season, the MFA disbanded, and Campbell Town crossed to the Fingal District Football Association, remaining there until that competition too was dismantled two decades later. During the course of their twenty-one season stint in the FDFA the Robins contested a total of nine grand finals, half a dozen of which were won. The side was at its strongest during its first decade in the competition, only twice failing to reach the grand final.

Recent years saw Campbell Town competing in division two of the Northern Tasmanian Football Association, in which competition it claimed three senior grade premierships, beating Evandale in the 1998 grand final, Perth in 2000, and St Patrick’s Old Collegians in 2001. Remarkably, the club’s 2000 and 2001 flags were achieved undefeated.

In 2009 the Robins transferred to the Oatlands District Football Association where they have yet to claim a senior grade flag although they did finish runners-up to Bothwell in 2016. The 2017 season saw them again qualify for the finals and ultimately finish fourth but a year later they endured a torrid time in slumping to the wooden spoon after winning just once in 18 starts. They performed even worse in 2019, losing all 18 of their matches to succumb, inevitably, to the wooden spoon.

Probably the most noteworthy player in the club’s history to date was Ray Webb, winner of four Fisher Medals as best and fairest in the MFA, plus at least five club best and fairest awards (the records in respect of some years having been lost).


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.