Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Catani Football Club

Known as

Navy blue and white


Affiliation (Current)
Ellinbank & District Football Netball League (EDFNL) 1976–2024

Senior Premierships
West Gippsland Football League (WGFL) - 1953-4 (2 total); Ellinbank District Football League - 1992, 2004-5, 2017 (4 total)



After transferring from the West Gippsland Football League to the Ellinbank and District Football League in 1976 the Blues of Catani performed solidly at first, contesting the finals twice in their first three seasons. However, there then followed a prolonged slump in fortunes which was not arrested for more than a decade.

In 1991 the Catani seniors contested their first senior grade EDFL grand final, but lost to Poowong. The following year they made amends by overcoming Ellinbank to claim their first flag since 1954. Following, the Blues were there or thereabouts virtually every season for almost two decades, and they added two more premierships to their haul from half a dozen grand finals. After making the finals in 2012, when they bowed out at the very first hurdle against Garfield, the Blues did not again do so until 2017. Second on the ladder after the home and away rounds they lost to Warragul Industrials by 16 points in the qualifying final before recovering to down Buln Buln by 26 points in the first semi final and Neerim Neerim South in the preliminary final by 2 points, thereby setting up a grand final re-match against Warragul Industrials. On this occasion the scores were close from the outset, with the lead changing hands repeatedly. At three quarter time Catani enjoyed an 8 point advantage and despite being held completely scoreless in the final quarter they held on to win by a bare point, 5.7 (37) to 5.6 (36). 

The 2018 season brought a decline in fortunes with the Blues dropping to fifth place on the ladder before an even worse campaign in 2019 produced just seven wins, a result which consigned the team to seventh place on the 10 team premiership ladder.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.