Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Chinchilla Suns Australian Football Club

Known as
Chinchilla Suns


Red and gold


Affiliation (Historical)
AFL Darling Downs (AFLDD) 2013–

Chinchilla Suns

The Suns commenced in AFL Darling Downs in 2013. In what was then a single division competition it was perhaps not surprising that they finished last. In 2014 and 2015 the competition was split into two divisions with the Suns competing in Division Two where they did well, contesting the finals both years. The 2016 season saw the league reverting to a single division format and Chinchilla performed poorly, winning just a single match all year to finish just one place from bottom of the list. In 2017 the league reverted to a two division format. Competing in Division Two the Suns finished in fourth place on the five team premiership ladder. A year later, with their only points coming from a win on forfeit, Chinchilla Suns not surprisingly finished dead set last iin what was once again a single division competition. The 2019 season brought a second consecutive wooden spoon although the Suns did at least manage one more victory than in 2018. The club did not field a senior team in 2020 and 2021.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.