Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as


2012: merged with Rudall to form the Eastern Ranges Football Club

Black and red (originally blue and red)


Associated clubs
Eastern Ranges

Affiliation (Current)
Eastern Eyre Football League (EEFL) 1908–2024

Senior Premierships
Western Football Association (WFA) - 1909-10, 1913 (3 total); Cleve and Districts Football Association (CDFA) - 1919, 1922, 1926, 1933-4, 1940, 1945, 1947-8-9-50, 1952, 1954, 1958 (14 total); County Jervois Football League (CJFL) - 1968, 1970-1, 1978, 1980-1, 1983, 1985 (8 total); Eastern Eyre Football League - 1992, 1994, 1997-8, 2000-1, 2004-5 (8 total)


With eight senior grade Eastern Eyre Football League premierships to their credit the Bombers were the second most successful club in the competition’s twenty season history. Their culture of success had roots stretching back even further, to the first decade of the last century. Formed in 1908, they had already claimed three flags by the time of the first world war. All told, Cleve could lay claim to no fewer than thirty-three senior grade premierships from a total of sixty-one grand final or challenge final appearances, making it easily one of the most successful clubs in South Australia.

Such success is no guarantee of survival, however, and after several mediocre seasons it was announced that, as of 2012, Cleve would be merging with EEFL rivals Rudall, with the resultant new club going under the name of Eastern Ranges.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.