Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Cobden Football Netball Club

Known as

c 1900s

Black and red


Affiliation (Current)
Hampden Football Netball League (HFL) 1930–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Sheldrick Brewing Company Trophy (SBCT) 1906–1910; Corangamite Football Association (CFA) 1911–1923; Western District Football League (WDFL) 1924–1929

Senior Premierships
Hampden Football League - 1930, 1933, 1948-9, 1997-8 (6 total)



Cobden has been an ever present member of the Hampden Football League since winning the inaugural premiership in the competition in 1930. The side won a second flag in 1933, followed by two more in the 1940s, but then went almost half a century before claiming their fifth. The Cobden premiership-winning combinations of 1997 and 1998 were among the most potent in HaFL history, with many of their matches being won by substantial margins.

Of late, the Bombers have been consistent finalists without quite managing to take the elusive ultimate step to flag success. Arguably the closest they came to doing so was in 2007 when they proceeded straight to the grand final from the second semi only to under-perform on the big day and go down to Koroit - a team they had beaten by almost 8 goals in the qualifying final - by 34 points. Another grand final appearance came in 2012 but once again the Bombers were comprehensively outgunned, this time by Warrnambool who won by 37 points, 15.13 (103) to 10.6 (66).

The last few seasons have seen Cobden finishing eighth (both 2014 and 2015), sixth (2016), third (2017) and eighth again (both 2018 and 2019) on what is a 10 team premiership ladder.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.