Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Cobram Football Club

Known as

Former name
Cobram-Barooga, 1936


Black and yellow


Affiliation (Current)
Murray Football Netball League (MFNL) 1931–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Federal Football Association (FFA) 1895–1902; Goulburn Valley Football Assocation (GVFA) 1888–1889, 1904–1930

Senior Premierships
Murray Football League - 1947-8, 1955, 1959-60-1, 1969, 1974, 1984, 1995, 1998 (11 total)

Postal Address
P.O. Box 94, Cobram 3644, Victoria



In existence for well in excess of a century, the Tigers have a proud and illustrious past, but in recent years they appear to have fallen on hard times.

When the Murray Football League was established in 1931 Cobram was one of half a dozen foundation members, and ended up claiming the inaugural premiership on the strength of a 6.10 (46) to 3.11 (29) grand final victory over Strathmerton. The side went on to reach the next three grand finals in succession, only to lose on each occasion. It was not until after the war that the Tigers again tasted premiership success thanks to a 15.15 (105) to 13.12 (90) grand final defeat of Numurkah in 1947. The result was repeated the following year, but in 1949 Cobram lost out to Nathalia in the "big one".

The 1950s produced three grand final appearances, two of which were won. The second of these, against Deniliquin in 1959, was the springboard to what at the time was a league record three consecutive premierships. The other two wins came at the expense of Strathmerton, and Deniliquin once more.

The Tigers rounded off the 1960s in style with a hard fought 6 point conquest of Jerilderie in 1969. Each of the ensuing three decades spawned at least one senior grade flag, but as the last of these was in 1998 it might be felt that another is somewhat overdue. Recent seasons have seen the Tigers come last (both 2014 and 2015), eighth (2016), seventh (2017), sixth (2018) and seventh (2019) on the premiership ladder.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.