Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Coleraine Football Club

Known as

c 1900s

Maroon and gold


Affiliation (Current)
South West District Football Netball League (SWDFNL) 1995–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Glenelg Football Association (GFA) 1919–1929; Western District Football League (WDFL) 1930–1963; Western Border Football League (WBFL) 1964–1994

Senior Premierships
Western Border Football League (WBFL) - 1967 (1 total); South West District Football League - 1996, 2005, 2007-8-9-10, 2013 (7 total)



Coleraine was an inaugural, and initially prominent, member of the Western Border Football League, which was established in 1964. The side qualified for the grand final in its third season, but lost to Portland by 20 points. In the 1967 grand final it achieved revenge when it defeated the Tigers by an identical margin, 12.18 (90) to 10.10 (70).

After its premiership triumph Coleraine began to find the going tough. After the 1994 season the club transferred to the less demanding environment of the South West District Football League in which it immediately began making its mark. The Maroons claimed their first senior grade premiership in the competition in 1996 and have since added half a dozen more, including a record equalling four in succession between 2007 and 2010.[1] The Maroons' seventh and most recent premiership was obtained in 2013 by means of a 15.6 (96) to 9.10 (64) grand final defeat of Heywood. They again qualified for the grand final in 2016 but went down by 8 points to Tyrendarra. A year later they endured a dismal campaign which produced just a couple of wins and saw them consigned to the wooden spoon. This was followed by a much stronger showing in 2018 which resulted in finals qualification for an ultimate finishing position of fifth. A slight decline in fortune followed in 2019 as the Maroons dropped down the ladder to sixth.


1. The record is held jointly with Westerns who claimed their four flags in a row from 1997 to 2000.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.