Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as

1963 as Cowell North, when the original Cowell Football Club (formed 1901) split into two separate clubs, Cowell North and Cowell South; renamed Cowell in 1974

Green and white


Affiliation (Current)
Eastern Eyre Football League (EEFL) –2024, –, –

Senior Premierships
County Jervois Football League (CJFL) - 1969 (1 total); EEFL -1996, 1999, 2006-7 (4 total)


The original Cowell Football Club was formed in 1901 and enjoyed considerable success before splitting into two separate clubs, Cowell North and Cowell South, in 1963. Eleven years later Cowell North re assumed the Cowell moniker, Cowell South having disbanded in 1970. Between 1963 and 1988 the club competed in the County Jervois Football League, reaching a total of seven senior grade grand finals but only once, in 1969 at the expense of Cleve, emerging as winners. The Cats were founder members of the Eastern Eyre Football League in 1989 and to date they have played off in ten of the competition’s senior grade grand finals, emerging victorious on five occasions. The most recent of these five premierships was obtained in 2009 thanks to a 13.11 (89) to 11.7 (73) grand final defeat of Kimba Districts. More recently, the Cats were runners up in 2011 against Kimba Districts. This remains their last grand final appearance and indeed over the next half a dozen seasons they tended to struggle, even succumbing to wooden spoons in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017. The 2018 season brought some improvement as the Cats won half their minor round matches and ultimately ran third after losing the preliminary final to eventual premiers Kimba Districts. A disappointing 2019 campaign then produced a wooden spoon following which the competition went into recess for a year because of the coronavirus pandemic.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.