Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as


Navy blue and white


Affiliation (Current)
AFL Central West (AFLCW) 1982–2024

Senior Premierships
AFL Central West - 1986-7, 2006, 2008, 2010-11, 2016 (7 total)



Formed in 1982, the first few seasons were a struggle for the Blues, but by 1985 they were ready to mount a serious premiership challenge. Opposed by Dubbo in that year’s grand final, they fell short by just a couple of points before making amends with consecutive grand final triumphs in 1986 and 1987. The Blues did not again make a grand final until 2003 when they went down by 48 points to Dubbo. Two third place finishes followed before the greatest season in the club’s history so far produced an unbeaten senior grade premiership, coupled with a reserve grade flag. In senior grade, full forward Matt Smith amassed the incredible tally of 213 goals for the year.

The 2007 season brought a slight fall from grace for the seniors who came third but they reasserted their dominance in 2008, losing only twice all year and easily accounting for Bathurst in the grand final. The reserves also went top meaning that, like the seniors, they had won a total of four NWAFL flags.

The next four senior grade grand finals all featured Cowra and the Bathurst Bushrangers, with the Bushrangers winning the first and last and the Blues the middle two.

The Blues' most recent premiership triumph came in 2016 by means of a 10.11 (71) to 7.12 (54) grand final defeat of Bushrangers Outlaws. The following season brought a seismic decline in fortunes as the Blues lost all 12 matches played to slump to the wooden spoon, a result that was duplicated in 2019.

The 2020 season saw the competition split into two tiers, with Cowra reaching the grand final in tier two, only to lose to Parkes.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.