Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Crystal Brook

Red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Northern Areas Football Association (NAFA) –2024

Senior Premierships
Northern Areas Football Association (NAFA) - 1910-11, 1923, 1939, 1945, 1951, 1954, 1960, 1962-3-4, 1967, 1971, 1975, 1980–1, 1992, 2008, 2011–12, 2015, 2017-18 (23 total)

Crystal Brook

Crystal Brook was a founder member in 1909 of the Northern Areas Football Association. Prior to that, a Crystal Brook combination participated in the Port Pirie Football Association, although whether or noit this was the same club is unclear.

With twenty-one senior grade flags to their credit the Roosters have been far and away the NAFA’s most successful club. Since the turn of the century they have fielded some strong teams, but until the 2008 season these all fell short come finals time. In 2008, however, there was no stopping the Roosters who conclusively topped the ladder with a 15-1 record before defeating Southern Flinders in the second semi final and again a fortnight later in the grand final. Both matches were won convincingly in the end, the former by 51 points, and the latter by 44 points, but the grand final was a closely fought affair for three quarters before the Roosters unleashed an 8 goals to nil last term.

Since then, the Roosters have claimed another five premierships, downing Jamestown Peterborough by 47 points in the 2011 grand final, Southern Flinders by 5 points in 2012, Broughton Mundoora by 49 points in 2015 and by 42 points in 2017, and Orroroo by 33 points in 2018. The 2017 triumph was particularly noteworthy as it came as the culmination of a season in which all 18 matches played were won.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.