Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Cudgewa Football Club

Known as


Navy blue and white


Affiliation (Current)
Upper Murray Football Netball League (UPMNL) 1893–2024

Senior Premierships
Upper Murray Football League and precursors - 1896, 1904, 1907, 1911, 1913-14, 1919, 1921, 1938-9, 1946-7, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1961-2-3, 1966-7, 1970-1, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1981, 1999, 2000, 2014-15 (30 total)



The Blues were among the founder members in 1893 of the Corryong Football Association, the competition which, after several name changes, became the Upper Murray Football League in 1937. The side finished second in its debut season and again in 1895 before claiming its first premiership in 1896. This inaugural flag was won on the basis of the number of premiership points attained during the home and away season, but by the time Cudgewa next went top, in 1904, the Association had introduced a finals system. The Blues won that year’s grand final against Corryong, and by the time of the outbreak of world war one had added further such triumphs at the expense of Federal in 1911, Corryong in 1913, and Federal in 1914.

Between the wars Cudgewa captured another four premierships but it was during the first four decades after world war two that the club really came into its own. Over the course of the forty-one season period from 1946 to 1986 the Blues contested no fewer than twenty-four senior grade grand finals, winning sixteen of them.

In recent seasons the Blues have re-emerged as a force, contesting grand finals in 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015, and triumphing in the last two of these. The next two seasons brought a gradual decline in fortunes as the side finished third in 2016 and fifth in 2017 on what is a six team premiership ladder. There was a partial recovery in 2018 when the Blues got as far as a first semi final loss to Corryong before a highly promising 2019 campaign which saw the side make it as far as a losing grand final clash with Bullioh.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.