Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Cummins Kapinnie

1997, through the amalgamation of the Cummins and Kapinnie Football Clubs

Red and black


Affiliation (Current)
Great Flinders Football League (GFFL) –2024, 1997–

Senior Premierships
Great Flinders Football League - 2000-1 (2 total)

Cummins Kapinnie

Both Cummins and Kapinnie had enjoyed a fair amount of success prior to their merger in 1997. Cummins, which had been formed in 1906, had contested a total seventeen senior grade grand finals, seven of which were won. Kapinnie was a somewhat younger club, established in 1934, with the highlight of its history being its four successive Great Flinders Football League flags between 1990 and 1993. Overall, the club won a total of ten senior grade premierships from twenty-three grand finals.

Since the merger, the Cougars have performed solidly, claiming successive flags in 2000 at the expense of Tumby Bay and 2001 against Lock. They also finished runners-up in 1998, 2005, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2016. By contrast, the 2017 season was somewhat disappointing as the Cougars failed to qualify for the finals on percentage. A year later they made the finals and came fourth, a result that was repeated in 2019. There was no GFFL senior competition in 2020 because of the global coronavirus pandemic.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.