Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Cuprona Football Club

Known as

c 1912

Blue, red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Darwin Football Association (DFA) 1965–2024

Senior Premierships
Riana Football Association (RFA) - 1922, 1948-9, 1957-8, 1960, 1963 (7 total); Darwin Football Association - 1977, 2000 (2 total)


Cuprona’s long history has spawned only sporadic premierships. Since commencing in the Darwin Football Association in 1965 the Bulldogs have only contested four senior grade grand finals, accounting for Natone by 26 points in 1977 and by 7 points in 2000, and losing by 75 points to Queenstown in 1997 and by 46 points to Natone in 1999. Recent performances have been almost uniformly poor with the side succumbing to wooden spoons in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014. By contrast, the 2015 and 2016 seasons produced rare finals appearances for fifth and third place finishes. In 2017 they finished in sixth place on the eight team premiership ladder before re-entering the finals fray in 2018 when they eventually came fourth, a result duplicated the following year.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.