Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Curra Swans

1990, through the merger of Currajong and Townsville Swans

Navy blue, red and white


Affiliation (Current)
AFL Townsville (AFLT) –2024, 1990–

Senior Premierships
AFL Townsville - 1997-8-9, 2020 (4 total)

Curra Swans

Curra Swans were formed in 1990 through a merger between erstwhile Townsville AFL rivals South Townsville (six premierships) and Currajong (nine, including five in succession between 1975 and 1979). The Swans themselves have, to date, claimed three flags, all of which were won consecutively between 1997 and 1999. Fortunes during the 21st century have generally been modest including several wooden spoons. The 2019 season was an exception as the side qualified for the finals and eventually came third. This was a prelude to a highly meritorious 2020 season which culminated in a seven point grand final victory over Thuringowa Bulldogs. The Swans won all ten matches contested in what, because of the coronavirus pandemic, was an abbreviated competition. It was an excellent year all round for the club as the reserves also went top while the women's team was beaten in the grand final.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.