Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Dalby Swans


White and red


Affiliation (Historical)
AFL Darling Downs (AFLDD) 1980–, 1980–, 2010–

Senior Premierships
AFL Darling Downs Division Two - 2017 (1 total)

Dalby Swans

The Swans have had a somewhat chequered history which has involved four separate stints as members of the AFL Darling Downs senior grade competition.[1] They reached a Division Two grand final in 2015. Opposed by South Burnett they went into the match as favourites only to lose by 22 points. In 2016 the league functioned as a single division competition with Dalby finishing a creditable seventh of eleven clubs. When the two division format was restored in 2017 the Swans promptly secured their first senior grade premiership thanks to an 8.12 (60) to 6.6 (42) grand final defeat of Warwick Redbacks. The 2018 season saw a restoration of the single division competition and the Swans finished one place off the bottom of the ladder after winning just once all year. The Swans did not field a senior team in 2019 but resumed in 2020 when they produced a creditable campaign to finish fifth (of seven).


  1. Dalby Swans were involved in the AFLDD competition from 1980 to 1994, 1998 to 2000, 2005 to 2007, 2010 to 2018, with their current stint commencing in 2020.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.