Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Darley Football Netball Club

Known as



Black and white


Affiliation (Current)
Ballarat Football Netball League (BFNL) 1997–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Melton and Bacchus Marsh Football League (MBMFL) 1919–1934, 1957–1958; Bacchus Marsh Football League (BMFL) 1935–1956, 1959–1972; Ballarat and Bacchus Marsh Football League (BBMFL) 1973–1977; Central Highlands Football League (CHFL) 1979–1985; Riddell District Football Netball League (RDFNL) 1978, 1986–1996

Senior Premierships
Bacchus Marsh and Melton Football League (BMMFL) - 1923, 1926, 1934, 1938, 1939, 1947, 1949, 1950, 1952, 1955, 1957 (11 total); Bacchus Marsh Football League (BMFL) - 1959, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972 (5 total); Central Highlands Football League - 1984 (1 total); Riddell District Football League (RDFL) Division One - 1989, 1995 (2 total); Ballarat Football League - 2015, 2017 (2 total)



Situated a couple of kilometres north of Bacchus Marsh, the town of Darley has been a football hotbed for decades. The club which nowadays bears the town’s name was formed in 1919, and over the years has enjoyed considerable success in a number of different competitions, including most recently in its current home of the Ballarat Football League. 

In recent seasons the Devils have, on the whole, performed well, reaching the finals every year since 2012. Their first senior grade BFL premiership finally arrived in 2015 courtesy of a resounding 11.18 (84) to 3.5 (23) grand final demolition of a North Ballarat City side which was aiming for a third successive flag. They claimed a second premiership in 2017 at the expense of Bacchus Marsh. The 2018 season saw them drop down the table to third. A year later their campaign was halted at the elimination final stage by Redan.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.