Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Diggers Rest Football Club

Known as
Diggers Rest


Blue and red


Affiliation (Current)
Riddell District Football Netball League (RDFNL) 1978–2024

Senior Premierships
Riddell District Football League (RDFL) - 2016, 2018 (2 total); Division Two - 1993 (1 total)

Postal Address
P.O. Box 120, Diggers Rest 3427, Victoria


Diggers Rest

Diggers Rest’s first premiership during almost four decades of involvement in the Riddell District Football League came in 1993 in the short-lived Division Two competition which commenced that year and ended in 1996. The Burras came close to a second flag in 2008 when they fought their way through to the grand final from third only to lose by 57 points to Riddell. Finally, in 2016 the Burras battled their way to the top of the tree, claiming a hard fought grand final victory over Riddell with scores of 12.14 (86) to 12.8 (80). Earlier they had topped the ladder with only a single defeat before trouncing Broadford in the second semi final by 69 points. A year later they enjoyed another fine season which culminated in a 25 point preliminary final loss to Rupertswood. This was followed by another premiership triumph in 2018. Third on the ladder at the conclusion of the minor round Diggers Rest progressed to the grand final despite suffering the setback of a qualifying final loss to Riddell. When the same two clubs met again on grand final day the 'Burras turned the tables in conclusive fashion with scores of 9.12 (66) to 6.9 (45).

After that, the 2019 season proved immensely disappointing as, after topping the ladder ahead of the finals, the Burras meekly bowed out of contention with "straight sets" losses to Rupertswood and Wallan.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.