Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Dudley United

1965, through the merger of the Dudley and United Football Clubs

Green and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Kangaroo Island Football League (KIFL) –2024, 1965–, 1965–2024

Senior Premierships
Kangaroo Island Football League - 1965, 1980, 1984, 1988, 2000, 2004, 2006–7, 2014–15-16 (11 total)

Dudley United

Having been formed in 1965 by means of a merger between erstwhile Kangaroo Island Football League rivals Dudley and United, Dudley United claimed a senior grade flag in their debut season in the competition. The club then experienced a fifteen year premiership drought before re-emerging as a force in the 1980s. Between 1980 and 1988 the seniors contested half a dozen grand finals for a fifty per cent success rate. Following the 1988 grand final defeat of Parndana there was another extended premiership drought which was finally broken with a two point grand final defeat of Parndana in 2000. Since then there have been eight more grand final appearances including victories over Wisanger in 2004, Parndana in 2006, Kingscote in 2007, Parndana in 2014, Western Districts in 2015 and Kingscote in 2016. The Eagles' most recent grand final appearance in 2017 resulted in a 41 point loss at the hands of Western United. A year later they slumped to last place on the ladder after only managing a single win from their 14 minor round matches.

The Eagles did not field a senior team in 2019 while the following year saw the league itself go into abeyance because of the coronavirus pandemic. The club plans to resume in 2021.

Probably the most noteworthy footballer to pull on the green and gold jumper over the years was David Florance, who not only won five Mail Medals, he finished as runner-up on five occasions as well. Florance spent the 1989 season at South Adelaide for whom he managed three senior games.

Prior to their amalgamation both Dudley and United had achieved premiership success in the KIFL, the former claiming one flag from five grand finals, and the latter defeating Kingscote in 1962 in the only senior grade grand final it contested.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.