Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
East Murray

1971, through a merger between the Galga and Ramblers Football Clubs


Black and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Murray Valley Football Netball League (MVFNL) –2024, 1971–

Senior Premierships
Murraylands Football League (MFL) - 1975 (1 total); Riverland Independent Football League - 2003 (1 total)

East Murray

The Tigers spent their first 23 seasons competing in the Murraylands Football League, reaching senior grade grand finals in 1975, 1976, 1983 and 1987. Only the first of these, against Perponda, was won. Since 1994 East Murray has been a member of the Riverland Independent Football League, contesting four grand finals in all. In 1994 against Moorook Kingston it went down by a point, while in 1999 against Cobdogla the deficit was 7 points. Finally, in 2003 the Tigers came good with an emphatic 18.7 (115) to 10.4 (64) grand final demolition of Moorook Kingston. In 2010 they kicked themselves out of contention in losing the grand final to Lyrup by 28 points, 13.9 (87) to 7.17 (59). After running third in 2013 the Tigers reluctantly took the decision to fold.

Prior to the merger Galga had, between 1920 and 1970, claimed a total of ten senior grade premierships from sixteen grand finals while the somewhat younger Ramblers Football Club had contested fifteen senior grade grand finals in just twenty seasons, winning nine of them.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.